Our Mexico City policy, adopted at the ITF congress in 2010, requires our affiliated unions to provide all sailors with adequate representation and adequate protection of trade unions. They cooperate to provide conventional coverage to all sailors, regardless of nationality or country of origin. The ITF negotiates agreements with international organizations, including maritime employers and crew agencies, to ensure minimum standards and conditions for large groups of seafarers. The Declaration of Recognition of the Flag of Non-Coastal States (French: Declaration bearing the flag of states without a coastline) is a 1921 multilateral treaty that legally recognizes that a landlocked state could be a maritime flag state; that is, a landlocked state could register ships and sail them at sea under its own flag. Since 2013, the declaration has been ratified by more than 50 states and international law recognizes the right of any state to sail at sea under its own flag. Today, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bolivia, Bolivia, Ethiopia, Hungary, Laos, Luxembourg, Mongolia, Moldova, Paraguay, Slovakia and Switzerland are among the landlocked countries, while only Ethiopia, Laos and Mongolia do not have a river/sea port to reach the high seas. During the first two decades of the 20th century, there had been uncertainty as to the ability of a landlocked state to register sea-going vessels and to allow them to sail under its flag: France, the United Kingdom and Germany had argued that such a right could not exist because it would allow a landlocked state not to control the behaviour of flagged vessels because the state was unable to fully access ports and the sea. Before the First World War, Switzerland had rejected several requests for merchant ships for the Swiss flag. In many cases, the registers themselves are not even kept from the flag country. There are different types of agreements that reflect the complexity of industrial and offshore cruise agreements and the differences between regions.

The Fair Practices Committee (CPF) is made up of both seafarers and port workers` unions.